Datamation, May 1972

Brent Hilpert hilpert at
Thu Nov 17 16:45:17 CST 2016

On 2016-Nov-17, at 2:26 PM, Al Kossow wrote:
> On 11/17/16 2:20 PM, Paul Koning wrote:
>> Maybe an earlier ILLIAC? 
> correct.

From that link, ILLIAC Suite / String Quartet No. 4 is a 1957 composition by the ILLIAC I, programmed by Lejaren A. Hiller.
(According to Ed Thelen's site the ILLIAC I was then retired in 1962.)

Josh's 1967 record lists "Machine Music" by Lejaren A. Hiller but (from the presented info) it's not clear those are the same composition (the names at least are inconsistent).

More information about the cctech mailing list